top of page

How To Paint Faux Shiplap


After looking at so many IG pictures with pretty shiplap, I finally decided to try painting it! An I have to say, it fools the eye pretty well! The first thing I did was go on Lowes website and found out how wide shiplap was. There are a lot of different types of ship lap but the one that caught my eye was 7" wide.


The first thing your going to want to do is take things off the wall and putty over the holes. You'll want to remove anything that gives away that its drywall and not real shiplap. I had to move the lights on either side of my bed because they had been put up when I had a queen sized bed and I recently got a king sizes. So the lights needed to be moved to accommodate the bigger bed!


This Dry Dex Spackling is amazing stuff! Plus I love that it goes on pink and once its dry enough to sand it turns white! Oh, and you'll probably want a smaller putty knife.. this old rusty thing is all I could find and I was in a hurry to get this project done! And a sanding block like this one is super simple to use.


It really did a wonderful job patching my holes up!


Once your spackling is dry you can touch it up with a paint brush. I waited till I was done with the lines so I could pant in-between them to go with the direction of the "boards". I stared from the floor up measuring every 7 inches, then I would make a small mark, move down the wall about 2 feet and measure, make another mark.


Once I got to the end of the wall I would go back with my long level match them up to the small marks and draw a line, making my way along the wall. This insured a straight line!


Once I had all of my lines made I pulled out the Frog Tape! I have really loved this stuff for projects! It does a great job! I find putting the tape on the bottom side of the line first works best! Then I don't have a measurement for the "crack" I simply eye-ball it!


Once the whole wall is taped you'll need black paint, I find anything really works because its so small it doesn't matter if its gloss or matte or chalk paint.


Paint brushes kind of ruin the effect of the "crack" because they leave strokes. But if you more "blob" along with a sponge it looks more like a shadow. I only do one coat of the black paint, let it dry and peel the tape off! And your done! Its that easy! Here is a few more walls I did it on.



Did you know I have a YouTube channel?




670 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blessed

bottom of page